Daytime and evening appointments available.  07425 605 039          

The Quadriceps Group

The Quadriceps group (commonly known as Quads) comprises of four large muscles in the front of the upper leg. They are:

Vastus Lateralis (Outer)

Vastus Medialis (Inner)

Vastus Intermedius (between) and

Rectus Femoris

The Vastus muscles originate on the upper Femur (thigh bone) and Rectus Femoris from the front of the Ilium (hip bone). All four converge into a single tendon above the knee. This tendon wraps around the knee cap before attaching to the Tibia (shin bone).

All four quadriceps are powerful extensors of the knee joint. They are crucial in walking, running, jumping and squatting. Because the Rectus Femoris attaches to the Ilium, it is also a flexor of the hip. This action is also essential to walking or running as it swings the leg forward into the ensuing step.

Please watch this video on my Facebook page to see how to stretch these muscles.

Stretching is particularly useful after exercise as part of your cool-down.

If you need help and advice with any injury and want to talk it through, please feel free to contact me .